Starting in 1788 and

keeping tradition until 1935 U. S. senators representing

Connecticut would start work on March 4.

Today, Senators are elected, for a six-year term, beginning Jan. 3. Elections take place the first Tuesday after Nov. 1. Before 1914, they were chosen by the Connecticut General Assembly, and before 1935, their terms began March 4.

New Canaan has never had a United States senator that was native to the town. However former Missouri Sen. Stuart Symington, above, died in town in 1988 and served in the Senate from 1953 to 1976.