The new members of the New Canaan Town Council were sworn in Tuesday.

The new members are Republicans John Engel, Kevin Moynihan, William Walbert and Penny Young and Democrats Kathleen Corbet and Sven Englund.

Additionally, the council elected new officers for the new term. Walbert was chosen as chairman, Steve Karl vice chairman and Corbet secretary.

Engel, who was selected to fill the vacancy created by the election of Tom O'Dea to the state House of Representatives in November 2012, is a Realtor with Brotherhood & Higley. He also has been involved with the New Canaan Land Trust and the Rotary Club.

Moynihan, a retired lawyer from Merrill Lynch, is the vice chairman of the New Canaan Republican Town Committee. He also is a member of the board of directors of the New Canaan Community Foundation and Getabout Inc.

Walbert, who works for Walbert Capital Management, is the former president of the New Canaan Community Foundation and Rotary Club of New Canaan, and is a board member of the Gridiron Club.

Young, a member of the Town Council for 16 years, has and continues to serve on numerous town and community agencies and organizations.

More Information

Fact box

Corbert, the founder of Cross Ridge Capital, has been or is a member of several town and community organizations. Among her many civic involvements, she was the interim town finance director in 2012 and was a candidate for town treasurer in 2011.

Englund, the technical director of DRS Consolidated Controls Inc., is a member of New Canaan Fire Co. No. 1, and has served as its assistant chief and president. He also is a member of the Fire Commission.