Dr. Jonathan J. Beitler, of New Canaan, professor of radiation oncology at the Winship Cancer Center of Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, will receive the Fellow of the American Society for Radiation Oncology designation during an awards ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 24, at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta.

"Dr. Beitler joins an elite group of ASTRO members who have significantly impacted the society, the specialty and cancer patients worldwide through their leadership in and service to research, education and patient care efforts," said ASTRO President Dr. Colleen A.F. Lawton of FASTRO, professor, program director and vice-chairman of radiation oncology at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

Awarded annually since 2006, the Fellows program honors those who have been a member of ASTRO for at least 15 years, who have contributed the equivalent of 10 years of service to ASTRO and who have made substantial contributions to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care or service, and leadership.

Candidates are nominated by a current ASTRO Fellow and supported by three additional ASTRO members. A nine-member Fellows Selection Committee reviews all of the nominations and presents a slate of recommended Fellows to ASTRO's Board of Directors for final approval.

More Information

Fact box