The New Canaan High School production of "The Drowsy Chaperone" has been nominated for 17 awards this year for The Connecticut High School Musical Theater Awards.

The winners will be announced at a black tie gala at the Palace Theater in Waterbury June 6. This is the third year of the competition in Connecticut and New Canaan High School's third year of participation.

The nominations for the NCHS production of "The Drowsy Chaperone" are:

For Costume Achievement -- Deirdre Alexander;

Outstanding Lighting Achievement -- Kevin Gleason;

More Information

Fact box

Outstanding Scenic Achievement -- Kevin Gleason;

Outstanding Direction -- Deirdre Alexander;

Outstanding Choreograghy -- Deirdre Alexander;

Outstanding Musical Direction- Don Rickenback and Scott Cranston;

Outstanding Leading Female -- Catherine Chiocchi (Janet van de Graff);

Outstanding leading Male -- Matt Maguire (Man in the Chair);

Outstanding Supporting Female- Ashley Pacelli (Drowsy Chaperone);

Outstanding Supporting Male -- Stewart Taylor (Robert Martin) and Ryan Stiffelman (Adolpho);

Outstanding Featured Ensemble Member -- Sean Petersen (Underling); Allie Potenza (Trix);

Outstanding Featured Ensemble Group -- Gangsters 1 and 2 (Keri DeTullio and Tyler Giggi);

Outstanding Graphic Design -- NCHS "The Drowsy Chaperone";

Special Student Achievement - Production Stage Manager - Michael DeMattia;

and Production of the Year- NCHS "The Drowsy Chaperone."