(skip this header)

New Canaan News

Sunday, November 29, 2015

newcanaannewsonline.com Businesses

« Back to Article

New Canaan Republicans throw names in the ring for July caucus

Published 11:23 am, Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Larger | Smaller
Email This

More Information

Fact box
Page 1 of 1

The New Canaan Republican Town Committee confirmed the candidates running in the July 16 Republican caucus.

Current chairman Mark DeWaele will not seek another term.

Seven candidates are vying for four Town Council spots. Two incumbents, Penny Young and John Engel, will run with challengers Paul Foley, Kevin Moynihan, Dan Radman, Roy Abramowitz and William Walbert.

Foley is a former Town Councilman, serving from 2001 to 2009. Moynihan, Radman and Abramowitz ran against Engel for the open Town Council seat in January, after Tom O'Dea was elected to the House of Representatives.

Town Councilman Robert Hamill chose not to run for another term.

Five residents are running for three available Board of Education spots: Maria Naughton; Sanageeta Appel; Dionna Carlson; MaryAnne Marcella; and Jennifer Richardson.

Town Clerk Claudia Weber will run unopposed.

First Selectman Robert Mallozzi and Selectman Nick Williams will each run for a second term.

Andrew Brooks will run unopposed for the position of town treasurer.

The caucus will be held at 7:30 p.m. on July 16 at the Saxe Middle School auditorium. In order to run for the spot, each candidate was required to obtain 25 signatures from Republican electors.

twoods@bcnnew.com; 203-972-4413; @Woods_NCNews